Wednesday, May 16, 2012

Lately

Lately...The weather has been beautiful here in Calgary and we have been spending a lot of time outside! Liv loves it outside and I love hanging outside with her. We celebrated Mother's Day by sleeping in as a family until 8:15. It was the plan that I would sleep in, but when Liv slept in I couldn't sleep any longer...isn't that how it always pans out though :). We had dinner at Pat's Grandmas house and that was about it. It was nice and laid back, which is how I think it should be.

Liv was sick for about a week and a half. She had a fever on and off and just wasn't feeling well. A week ago, I put her to bed at 7 and when I went to bed I luckily went to check on her. She was covered in puke. She had puked and didn't even wake up...I was 20 feet away from her and I didn't hear her. Naturally, I freaked out. Pat was out of town and my anxiety subconscious started screaming at me that Liv could have choked and suffocated. I put her in the bath and then directly in my bed so I could monitor her. She never threw up again, maybe it was all the cuddles she got!

I have a little compilation of photos over the past few weeks to share. You know, because I'm really good at updating my blog and sharing our lives....

Mother's Day...hanging out her her mini pool.



where are you going liv?


a girl and her hummer ha.







and goodbye!

Wednesday, May 2, 2012

mental highjack

Well, I received two more emails this morning, informing me that I did not get an interview. I'm slightly confused by these emails because when I apply, I get an email confirming and it states that I will not receive another email unless I'm going to be given an interview....yet lo and behold I have probably opened at least 8 emails that have told me I'm not getting an interview.

I'm going to assume that I at least was in a group that was a step closer to an interview? maybe? who knows...either way, these emails kill me because I get my hopes up when I see the non-generic looking email that I get about 10 times a day from the jobs I've applied to. It makes it all the more disappointing.

So after applying to some more jobs...because hey that is my job, I decided to mentally highjack myself and clean my floors, and dust, and clean the walls, and do laundry, all while listening to music. It did make me feel a little more in control of my life. If you feel like a complete failure, clean your floors, it makes you feel like a whole new woman.

This process is wearing on me. I keep assuring Pat that I will not give up...I know it takes time and I will keep trying, but I will continue to complain about it.


Tuesday, May 1, 2012

lacking

I've decided that job searching is hell. I like to think of it as the boyfriend that you got all gussied up for, put on your best heels, make-up, and clothing, in hopes of the praise that you CLEARLY deserve...and then you are thoroughly disappointed when he says nothing. You want to ask if you look pretty, but that defeats the purpose doesn't it? Who wants to ask for praise, it's not as sweet if it's not offered freely.

However, I've considered doing just that. Calling every HR office that has dissed me in the last 4 months and say "DON'T YOU KNOW WHAT YOU'RE MISSING????". I won't though...because I'm positive that it would ruin any future employment opportunities they might offer to me.

I feel like I've put my best foot forward in my resume and cover letters. I have applied to jobs that I think I'm perfect for, to jobs that I think "meh, I could do that". I'm left questioning if my credentials and achievements that I worked so hard for are less than par. Apparently my outfit I wore for my date wasn't as appealing as I thought....

I will continue to put myself out there, because I am hopeful that someone will see the special in me.

Speaking of special. This completely brightened my day. When Liv plays with her toys, she loves to ask "who got dis for me?". She does it all the time. So, yesterday when she got on her horse riding toy (that is too young for her, but I will hold onto forever), she asked that same question.

Liv: "Who is Shannon"
Me: "She is an Angel"
Liv: "An angel? I yike angels"
Me: "Me too, she's a very special angel"
Liv: "She is my angel"

Yes Liv, she is.

I also have some pictures I took about a week ago, we were playing outside, It was beautiful out and we were practicing our jumping :).







Wednesday, April 18, 2012

a fun evening.

Sometimes evenings aren't my favorite. Well, most days they aren't. I'm not sure what it is, but cleaning the kitchen, picking up the toys, giving Liv a bath, and hoping that bedtime goes off without a hitch leaves me exhausted.

Last night was a surprise. Last night was fun and goofy and Liv was in a great mood. That always helps...the two year old being in good spirits.

Also, if you know my dog...she's bad. She is likes people, well grown people. She is very hesitant around children and Liv is no exception. She has little patience for Liv, so these pictures show her having patience. This is unheard of for her. It was too cute not to capture.

oh the cuteness of lily sitting in that baby stroller...

"THIS IS SO MUCH FUN MOM!"


lily's face kills me ha!


oh and here is liv, after her bath, sitting on top of her dad's hockey bag so he can't get out the door.



Friday, April 13, 2012

It's that time again.

Time to take our first trip to the park this spring. Calgary can't decide if it's spring or not. We went to the park on Wednesday, it was beautiful, jackets optional weather...then Thursday we had a full-blown snow storm. It completely melted today, so I'm still quite confused, but I think this Alberta weather is bi-polar.

Liv had so much fun at the park. It amazes me how much more she can do now and I love to watch her conquer all the obstacles she couldn't last year. She climbed all the way up to the twisty slide by herself, but she didn't prepare herself for how fast she'd shoot out the bottom and landed flat on her bum. She avoided the slide the rest of our visit and before we left I asked her if she wanted to go down the big slide again. She responded with "no, it hurts my bum". I understand Liv, good call.

The only thing I have planned this weekend is to go watch The Hunger Games...again. I will never again attempt to go to a midnight showing after drinking four maybe five beers. It was painful and I spent all my energy keeping myself awake instead of paying attention to the movie. Also, want to like it as much as I loved the books, so I'm going again ha.

Other than that, I spent entirely way too much time trying to give my blog a re-vamp. I've changed things multiple times and will probably continue to do so because I'm indecisive.

Here are the pictures...the plus with the new layout is I can make my pictures bigger! yay!
the colored skinnies slay me.



wind in the hair.


this is Liv's true personality captured in one photo.

insisted on going in the "baby" swing.


ok maybe I have two photos capturing her true self.

Wednesday, April 11, 2012

Easter 2012

Easter has come and gone. We had a fun-filled weekend full of lots of family/friends, food, and of course, candy. Liv was so excited and it was so much fun to watch her in action. I, of course, didn't charge my camera and only got a few pictures from easter morning, but that doesn't mean I don't have a lot of pictures...I have a problem.

coloring easter eggs. so excited! 
woo hoo!!

using the stickers...of course.

I love how intense she looks ha.




easter egg hunt at auntie donna's




creeping around, hunting for eggs.


easter morning :)



On a side note, I had a preliminary phone interview today! I'm not completely confident that this is the job for me, but it was nice to get some kind of feedback from all of the resumes I've sent out. So, wish me luck :)!

Wednesday, April 4, 2012

"I get your stinkies out!"

Liv and I flew in late Monday night. We are back home and it feels good to be back to our old routine. Well hopefully we will have a new routine because I will get a job...someday...hopefully.

However, while we are waiting for that to happen, I have a story for you.

Liv and I were sitting on the couch together yesterday morning and this is how our conversation went:

Me: Livi I need to take a shower, I stink.

Liv: you don't stink mama.

Me: Yes, yes I do...I'm going to take a shower.

Liv: (leaning forward with her mouth wide open) RAWRRRRRRRR!

Liv: See, I got your stinkies out mama!

Really kid?! I died. It was hilarious and random. The only thing I can think to blame this on is the Yo Gabba Gabba book "get the sillies out". Clearly her reading comprehension is astronomical, seeing she totally applied getting the sillies out to getting my stinkies out. The roaring, I have no explanation for that, other than she is obsessed with monsters. What two year old welcomes the thought of monsters? Mine :).